

"Regarding the Defeat of Germany" – The Allied Commanders-in-Chief in Berlin (June 5, 1945)

Abstract

After the German surrender, the four victorious powers, now including France, assumed supreme governmental control in Germany through the "Declaration regarding the Defeat of Germany," signed and proclaimed by the commanders of the Allied armed forces on June 5, 1945, in the exclusive Berlin residential district of Wendenschloss. Here we see, from left to right, Field Marshal Montgomery (Great Britain), General Eisenhower (USA), Marshal Zhukov (Soviet Union), and General de Lattre de Tassigny (France). With the "definition of the zones of occupation" and the "definition of control procedures," Germany was divided into four zones "for the purposes of occupation," and the establishment of the Allied Control Council as the supreme organ of government and administration was officially named.

Source



Source: The commanders of the four occupation zones after the announcement of the Four-Power Declaration on the formation of the Allied Control Council: from left to right: Bernard L. Montgomery (Great Britain), Dwight D. Eisenhower (USA), Georgi Shukov (USSR), Jean de Lattre de Tassigny (France). Unknown photographer.

bpk-Bildagentur, image number 30019203. For rights inquiries, please contact Art Resource at requests@artres.com (North America) or bpk-Bildagentur at kontakt@bpk-bildagentur.de (for all other countries).

© bpk

Recommended Citation: "Regarding the Defeat of Germany" – The Allied Commanders-in-Chief in Berlin (June 5, 1945), published in: German History in Documents and Images, https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/occupation-and-the-emergence-of-two-states-1945-1961/ghdi:image-2516 [May 14, 2024].