

## States [*Länder*] of the German Democratic Republic (1949)

## **Abstract**

A second German state was formed on the territory of the Soviet Zone of Occupation in 1949, the German Democratic Republic. Its capital was East Berlin, a choice that was (and continued to remain) controversial on account of Allied reservations. The division of the country into five states [Länder] – Mecklenburg, Brandenburg, Saxony-Anhalt, Thuringia, and Saxony – was not met with similar reservations.

## Source



Source: Original cartography by IEG-MAPS, Institut für Europäische Geschichte, Mainz, A. Kunz, 2005. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2021.

Recommended Citation: States [Länder] of the German Democratic Republic (1949), published in: German History in Documents and Images,

<a href="https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/occupation-and-the-emergence-of-two-states-1945-1961/ghdi:map-528">https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/occupation-and-the-emergence-of-two-states-1945-1961/ghdi:map-528</a> [May 19, 2024].