

States of the Federal Republic (1957)

Abstract

With the reintegration of the Saar region as the federal state of "Saarland," the development of the Federal Republic was provisionally completed in 1957. Until 1990, the Federal Republic was comprised of ten federal states plus the state of Berlin, which was under the authority of the Supreme Allied Command as "West Berlin" and retained its special status.

Source



Source: Original cartography by IEG-MAPS, Institut für Europäische Geschichte, Mainz, A. Kunz, 2005. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2021.

Recommended Citation: States of the Federal Republic (1957), published in: German History in Documents and Images,

https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/occupation-and-the-emergence-of-two-states-1945-1961/ghdi:map-531 [May 12, 2024].