

Administrative Divisions of the Habsburg Empire (1780)

Abstract

The Habsburgs ruled Austria from 1282 until the end of the First World War. The Habsburgs also controlled significant parts of Central Europe, including Württemberg, Hungary, and Bohemia (1526–1918), and they ruled Spain, the Spanish Netherlands, and the global Spanish empire for almost two centuries (1504–06, 1516–1700). The Habsburgs reached the height of their power in the sixteenth century under Emperor Charles V. The Habsburgs also occupied the throne of the Holy Roman Empire from the fifteenth until the eighteenth century. The Habsburg monarchy was a union of crowns whose provinces were divided into three groups: The Archduchy of Austria with its capital of Vienna; Inner Austria that included Styria, Carinthia and Carniola; and Further Austria that included Tyrol and the Swabian lands. The Habsburg territories shared only partial laws and institutions and were only united by a common monarch. This map shows the administrative divisions of the Habsburg Empire in 1780, the year of Empress Maria Theresa's death.

Source



Source: Cartography by Mapping Solutions, Alaska, 2010.

Source: Map 1 (Arthur Banks), C.A. Macartney, ed., *The Habsburg and Hohenzollern Dynasties in the Seventeenth and Eighteenth Centuries. The Documentary History of Western Civilization*. New York, Evanston, and London: Harper & Row, 1970.

Recommended Citation: Administrative Divisions of the Habsburg Empire (1780), published in: German History in Documents and Images,

https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/the-holy-roman-empire-1648-1815/ghdi:map-3814 [December 21, 2024].