

Habsburg Lands, c. 1700

Abstract

This map shows the Habsburg Lands prior to the formation of the Empire of Austria in 1804. The Habsburg monarchy was a union of crowns whose provinces were divided into three groups: The Archduchy of Austria with its capital of Vienna, Inner Austria that included Styria, Carinthia and Carniola, and Further Austria that included Tyrol and the Swabian lands. The Habsburg territories shared only partial laws and institutions and were only united by a common monarch.

Source



Source: Original cartography by Cherie Norton/Mapping Solutions in collaboration with William Hagen, 2009. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2022.

Recommended Citation: Habsburg Lands, c. 1700, published in: German History in Documents and Images, https://germanhistorydocs.org/en/the-holy-roman-empire-1648-1815/ghdi:map-3862 [July 16, 2024].