This map shows the federal structure of the Federal Republic of Germany after unification. On October 3, 1990, five “new” states – Mecklenburg-Vorpommern (capital: Schwerin), Brandenburg (Potsdam), Saxony-Anhalt (Magdeburg), Thuringia (Erfurt), and Saxony (Dresden) – joined the eleven existing states of the "old" Federal Republic. At first glance, the new federal states appear to correspond with the GDR’s state structure of 1949 [see volume 8, map 7]. There were some notable changes, however. Berlin was particularly affected by these changes, having gained the status of an independent federal state. Additionally, Magdeburg – not Halle – was chosen as the capital of Saxony-Anhalt. The state borders shown in this map remain largely unchanged to the present day.

States of the Federal Republic (December 31, 1990)


Source: Original cartography by IEG-MAPS, Institut für Europäische Geschichte, Mainz, A. Kunz, 2004. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2022.