After the signing of the Rome Treaties in March 1957, the European Economic Community was founded on January 1, 1958. The six participating nations were Italy, France, Luxemburg, Belgium, the Netherlands, and the Federal Republic of Germany. The "Europe of Six" signaled the birth of a transnational economic sphere, which continued to grow in subsequent years and helped drive the political unification of Europe. (A. Kunz)

European Economic Community (1957-1986)


Source: Original cartography by IEG-MAPS, Institut für Europäische Geschichte, Mainz, A. Kunz, 2004. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2021.