A consolidation of the federal structure was achieved with the founding of a new federal state, Baden-Württemberg, in the southwestern part of the Federal Republic. The Federal Republic of Germany now consisted of nine (rather than eleven) federal states. On March 1, 1952, Heligoland was returned to German administration and was annexed to the state of Schleswig- Holstein.

States of the Federal Republic (1952)


Source: Original cartography by IEG-MAPS, Institut für Europäische Geschichte, Mainz, A. Kunz, 2005. Revised cartography (WCAG-compliant) by Gabriel Moss, 2021.