Within the framework of the new policy of rapprochement, the Quadripartite Agreement on Berlin between the former Allies established the basis for the legal status of the divided city, for relations between West Berlin and the Federal Republic, and for access to West Berlin. This photograph shows the foreign ministers of the Allied Powers signing the final protocol of the agreement. With their signatures, the agreement, which had been negotiated back in September 1971, took effect. From left to right: Maurice Schumann (France), Sir Alec Douglas-Home (Great Britain), Andrei Gromyko (Soviet Union), and William Rogers (United States).

Signing the Quadripartite Agreement on Berlin (June 3, 1972)

  • Klaus Lehnartz


Source: The foreign ministers of the four Allied powers sign the final protocol of the Four-Power Agreement on Berlin in the Allied Control Council building in Kleistpark; the agreement simultaneously enters into force. July 3, 1972. Image 1 of 3. Photo: Lehnartz.
bpk-Bildagentur, image number 30004665. For rights inquiries, please contact Art Resource at requests@artres.com (North America) or bpk-Bildagentur at kontakt@bpk-bildagentur.de (for all other countries).

© bpk / Klaus Lehnartz